CENTRAL FLORIDA EXPRESSWAY AUTHORITY

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 20, 2014 CONTACT: Michelle Maikisch 407-690-5000 MMaikisch@CFXway.com

CENTRAL FLORIDA EXPRESSWAY AUTHORITY CREATED

(ORLANDO, FL) – Today, Governor Rick Scott signed Senate Bill 230 to create the Central Florida Expressway Authority (CFX). Effective immediately CFX takes over the existing Orlando-Orange County authority, including E-PASS and incorporates representation from Lake, Osceola, and Seminole counties into a larger, regional tolling authority. CFX is responsible for the planning, design, construction, operation, and maintenance of a 109-mile limited-access expressway system serving the four county jurisdictions.

E-PASS customers do not need to make any changes to their account. The only change customers may notice is the name of the agency on E-PASS statements and Unpaid Toll Notices.

CFX is governed by a nine member board, with representatives from each of the four counties along with the Mayor of Orange County, the Mayor of Orlando and three gubernatorial appointees.

"This is a great day for Central Florida. I want to commend Governor Rick Scott, Senate-President Elect Andy Gardiner and Senator David Simmons for working tirelessly to build a coalition of local and state leaders to move this crucial piece of legislation forward," said Orange County Mayor Teresa Jacobs. "Under this new structure, we will have the opportunity to create a board with a majority of elected officials, able to oversee toll collections and roadway operations while also providing direct accountability to our citizens. I'm also extremely proud that the bill signed into law follows Orange County's lead by embracing stringent ethics requirements, similar to what the county first adopted in 2008."

Senator Simmons and Senator Gardiner, who worked together to pass Senate Bill 230, stated that this legislation provides regional solutions to our regional problems of transportation and positions Central Florida to work together cooperatively for the benefit of the citizens of Orange, Seminole, Lake and Osceola Counties.

Representative Bryan Nelson said, "Too often, civic leaders in our area talk about the region of Central Florida without having a regional vision or regional planning. One of the changes to the Expressway Board is to bring about a truly regional transportation authority. I was proud to sponsor this important piece of legislation in the House and thank Governor Scott for signing the bill."

CFX assumes all the responsibilities of the former Orlando-Orange County Expressway Authority, as well as the customer service and management of E-PASS, the electronic toll collection system with more than 500,000 Central Florida customers.

Under the new law, the Osceola County Expressway Authority manages its current road projects through 2018 or until certain financial milestones are met before joining the regional authority.

The first meeting of the new CFX board will meet in the month of July. Meeting information will be posted on ExpresswayAuthority.com.

The regional Central Florida Expressway Authority is responsible for the planning, design, construction, operation, and maintenance of a 109-mile limited-access expressway system to serve the four county region. CFX's system includes SR 408 (Spessard L. Holland East-West Expressway), SR 528 (Martin Andersen Beachline Expressway), SR 417 (Central Florida GreeneWay), SR 429 (Daniel Webster Western Beltway), SR 414 (John Land Apopka Expressway) and State Road 451.

- 30 -