An Open Letter to Governor Hickenlooper and Members of the General Assembly urging action to assure local control over oil and gas development.

As concerned citizens and elected officials from towns, cities and counties across Colorado, we respectfully urge you to take action to clarify and codify the rights of local governments to use zoning and land use powers to protect the health, safety and well-being of their residents from the impacts of oil and gas development. With multiple legal challenges to a community's right to self-determination pending, time is of the essence.

Local governments have long held the power to balance industrial activities with residents' quality of life and property values. It is crucial for local governments to have the authority to regulate the pace and scale of oil and gas drilling within their communities. This is the only way that local governments can ensure the health and safety of their children and families, the livability and property values of their neighborhoods and the long-term economic vitality of their communities.

We ask that you further affirm that local zoning and regulations are not preempted by the state. Without this, cities, towns and counties are not able to make decisions that are in the best interest of their residents without the fear of expensive litigation. A community's right to self-determination is not a partisan issue. It is of great importance to all Coloradans. While the State has an important role to play in setting broad statewide protections, local governments should be able to go beyond this baseline; the fact is, local governments are best equipped to make local decisions about land use in their communities -- not the State.

Please recognize and support our rights and responsibilities to make these decisions and take action to assure local control over oil and gas development.

Sincerely,

Jason Anderson, Saguache County Commissioner

Matthew Appelbaum, Mayor of Boulder

Herb Atchison, Mayor of Westminster

Brian Bagley, Longmont City Councilmember

Christine Berg, Mayor of Lafayette

Pam Bricker, Rio Grande County Commissioner

Bob Briggs, Westminster City Councilmember

Kathy Chandler-Henry, Eagle County Commissioner

Saoirse Charis-Graves, Golden City Councilmember

Tim Corrigan, Routt County Commissioner

Macon Cowles, Boulder City Councilmember

Ross Cunniff, Fort Collins City Councilmember

Cindy Domenico, Boulder County Commissioner

Tom Dowling, Lafayette City Councilmember

Marianne Dunne, Alamosa County Commissioner

Bill Fischer, Former Golden City Councilmember

Elaine Fischer, San Miguel County Commissioner

Deb Gardner, Boulder County Commissioner

Jill Gaebler, Colorado Springs City Councilmember

Alberto Garcia, Westminster City Councilmember

Art Goodtimes, San Miguel County Commissioner

Eva Henry, Adams County Commissioner

Tresi Houpt, Former Garfield County Commissioner and former COGCC Commissioner

Nancy Jackson, Arapahoe County Commissioner

Elise Jones, Boulder County Commissioner

Suzanne Jones, Boulder City Councilmember

Linda Joseph, Saguache County Commissioner

Karen Kellen, Lakewood City Councilmember

Robin Kniech, Denver City Councilmember

Gwen Lachelt, La Plata County Commissioner

Alexandra Lynch, Lafayette City Councilmember

Jan Martin, Colorado Springs City Councilmember

Tim Mauck, Clear Creek County Commissioner

Joan May, San Miguel County Commissioner

Lisa Morzel, Boulder City Council

Chris Nevitt, Denver City Councilmember

Debbie Ortega, Denver City Councilmember

Bob Overbeck, Fort Collins City Councilmember

Lynn Padgett, Ouray County Commissioner

Tim Plass, Boulder City Councilmember

Emma Pinter, Westminster City Councilmember

Jill Ryan, Eagle County Commissioner

Anita Seitz, Westminster City Councilmember

Susan Shepherd, Denver City Councilmember

Andrew Shoemaker, Boulder City Councilmember

Marjorie Sloan, Mayor of Golden

Val Snider, Colorado Spring City Councilmember

Karn Stiegelmeier, Summit County Commissioner

Chaz Tedesco, Adams County Commissioner

Sam Weaver, Boulder City Councilmember

Faith Winter, Mayor Pro Tem of Westminster City Council

Mary Young, Boulder City Councilmember